Altman Comet colorframe problem

Max

Long time lurker, first time poster
I am a student at a school that is doing a play. My TD has other things to do like focussing and geling to do, and as I am appointed "Spotlight manager" he tasked me with fixing the problem.
We have Altman comet followspots that work, but, on the gel boom, if you use a frame that is farther away from the first lense, soime of the light "misses the gel. this causes a blotch of uncolored light. I have affixed a photo of my hand in front of the gel behind the 2nd lens, you should be able to see my problem.
8854-altman-comet-proplem-img_0839.jpg

If somone could tell me how to fix it that would be appreicated.

ps: I can take more pictures upon request
PPS: when image uploladed it got flipped

Attachments

• IMG_0839.JPG
    IMG_0839.JPG
    33.2 KB · Views: 386
Last edited:
I can't remember ever actually using a Comet, but I'll take a stab at your problem. Is frame #6 (closest to the stage/PNK handle) moving the same distance as frame#1 (closest to the lamp/RED handle)? That is, is the color boomerang working correctly? Might something be somehow preventing the farther frames from being fully engaged?

I can't imagine the light would spread that quickly in the ~3" of throw distance, but what if you made the "frame" bigger by adding some blacktak around the outer circumference? You'd mask the "blotch of uncolored light" and shouldn't interfere with the optics, but if a dark spot is visible in the pool onstage, there's an optics problem someplace.

I think you said you have multiple fixtures. Are they all doing it? I'd usually add to check the bench focus, but since the unit uses an MR16 lamp where the relationship of filament to reflector is fixed, there's no adjustment there. But is the lamp seating fully in its holder?

In case you don't have it, here is the Altman Comet Parts Manual/exploded diagram: