Best Moving Heads

DTaxon

I am new to the world of moving head lights and would like more information on the topic. Do you have any suggestions on what movers to buy? What ones are good? What ones are bad? A preference of one over another? Anything that I could use to find the right moving heads to purchase. Thanks.

I think the best place to start with this is to figure out your purpose and what properties of light you are looking for.

You can break it down simply (there are other ways to break this down) to the following sub groups, the same way you would a conventional:

-Profiles
-Spots
-Beams
-Washes

Within this, what color tempurture are you looking for; so what lamp type are you looking for? Xenon, Tungsten, Arc, LED etc...
What are your power restrictions? Do you need FX such as prisms, beam splitter, iris, shutters/blades (to name a few)
Do you want a color wheel with fixed color choices or a more versatile CMY or RGB mixing engine.
What is your price point?
Are they for a fixed installation or to be re-plotted/toured?

This thread will start to shape into a more helpful resource for you if you can answer any/all of the above questions. And that's just a starting point for topic discussion. Then, we will all start to tell you what we prefer, what we've used, what the newest products are. There are (and this is a personal opinion) manufacturers that you shouldn't buy from because the quality control and technical support for their products are usually not very good. Others will have different opinions as well.

I'm excited to see where this conversation will go over the next few days.

-B

-LED lamps
-No power restrictions (we can find a way to rewire if needed)
-FX would be nice especially changeable gobos
-RGB mixing engine is preferred
-Price up to about 2,500 each
-For a fixed installation

Thank you!