Design Best White Light on a budget.

Mr.Dave

Hey all, I'm relatively new to the lighting world (sound guy by nature) and am the caretaker for a small higschool auditorium (less than 500 seats). Our lighting has not been touched in ....30 years...yeah. I've spent the past several years scouting things out,,which has brought me here (with great joy).

I have an electric with 14 circuits over stage (combo of RGB strips and fresnells) and two "bars" in the the ceiling with 3 circuits each. The bars have old ellipsoidals from each circuit. Control is at the breaker box...yeah.

I'm thinking LED pars and source 4 jrs. Most events need a general white wash. Do RGBWs come close to S4Jrs? I'm trying to do the most cost effective thing...perhaps not even using anything on those 'bars' in the celing if LED pars on the stage electric will be enough..?

P.S. I'm thinking MYDMX 2.0 for control.

I've found MyDMX to be extremely limiting. If you want to be able to do anything more than simply programming a single scene and playing it back, you'll wanna go with something else.

The problem is you can't stack cues on top of each other.

Say you have 2 scenes, one of them is white on the left half of the stage, and one of them is white on the right half.

For a special event you point a light in a specific spot. You want independent control of this light. So, to do this in MyDMX, you will have to copy each of those two scenes, and for each copy add the extra light. So your cues will look like this:

Left + Special On
Right + Special On
Left + Special Off
Right + Special Off

Very inflexible.

Welcome aboard, Mr. Dave. Glad you found us!