Design Budget Setup for Small Stage

matt01

Dear Forum Members,

I read over a good number of threads last night trying to gain some knowledge. I found your advice to be most helpful, so I decided to run my situation by you to see what you think.

My background is in IT where I provide contract support to a number of area businesses. One of these is a school that lost their sound/light man at the beginning of the year. There was no one qualified to take over, so I have been doing it. I feel pretty comfortable with the sound at this point. (I found a very good local mentor.) However, I am pretty much just getting started in lighting.

The school’s main performance area doesn’t really have much in the way of lighting, so I haven’t done really anything with this. (There are a dozen or so lights on four household style dimmers.) I basically turn them on or off. I just started doing DJ work for the school dances. I purchased a CHAUVET® DJ GigBAR™ IRC for this. So far, I have been impressed with this for the application. (It has also increased my interested in lighting, especially DMX.) That is the full extent of my lighting experience.

This brings me to the real question. In a couple of weeks the school is doing a fundraiser that will have a small band (piano, guitar and five vocalists) performing on a portable stage approximately 20 x 10. Since the stage is portable and not being setup in the main performance room they asked me to find some lighting. (The area where they are setting up the stage is actually the darkest section of the room.) The GigBAR is obviously not designed for this, so back to the store.