Building long unsupported spans

I'm the TD in a college theater (I'm a student), and I have a set designer who wants to build a 4'x16' platform 8' in the air. The 16' sides need to be open so the audience can see through, so it's essentially a 16' bridge. He wants to accomplish this by putting a 4x4 post in each corner, and cross-bracing the 4' sides, but that's pretty much the extent of the reinforcement. He wants to frame it out of 2x6 and space toggles every 12". Is there any safe way to accomplish this? I can't imagine that there would be. Are there accepted industry standards for building long, unsupported spans out of wood?

Thanks!

Let me guess. After this is built, the director will also want to have a bunch of cast members on it at once?

The maximum recommended span for 2x6 is about 10' depending on the material and local building codes, so 16' is in the realm of possibility for a set depending on how the structure is going to be used. 2x10 would be closer to code for typical live loads. It might need to be 2x12 or engineered joist if people are going to be really active up there.

My concern would be midspan sag and risk of collapse due to inadequate diagonal bracing. Sag can be reduced by additional blocking between joists and making any handrail or superstructure structural. Diagonal bracing can be provided by the staircases but they would need to be anchored to prevent them from moving. Are you allowed to fasten into the deck?

The maximum recommended span for 2x6 is about 10' depending on the material and local building codes, so 16' is in the realm of possibility for a set depending on how the structure is going to be used. 2x10 would be closer to code for typical live loads. It might need to be 2x12 or engineered joist if people are going to be really active up there.