Can I run multiple projectors off one display computer in Watchout?

Natalie H

Hi there everyone

I'm a scenic grad student working on my first projection design. For the show we are working on I need to run 3 projectors with different content for each of them. The program we are using for this is Watchout. What I need to know is if it is possible to run three different projectors off of one display computer. The Watchout manual says that you need a different display computer and license for each projector. Is there a way around that?

Thank you
Natalie H.

Welcome Natalie. I moved this thread so that it is posted in the proper forum. Hopefully you will get a better reply here.

~Dave

Watchout version 4.x can only output from one Display PC to one projector per licence, so a 3-screen show would need 3 Display PCs each hooked to one projector each and 3 licences (4 licences if you are also using a Production PC to control the 3). With a dual output graphics card, you can set each Display PC to clone the output such that one output is to a projector and the other is cloned to a desk monitor without the need for an additional licence.

Watchout version 5.x changed the requirement, and is able to output to a maximum of 6 outputs from one Display PC with one licence, assuming the PC has the muscle and capabilities especially Active display port adapters and EDID managers. All outputs from the one PC must be of the same resolution. The other requirement is that Watchout (all versions) can only communicate with one graphics card in the Display PC. Other graphics cards installed will merely display the fullscreen Watchout logo and nothing else.

So if you have WO v4.x, sorry, you are restricted to one screen from one Display PC per licence.