Clubs & Bars

Lighting people get asked to do EVERYTHING. In my experiences I've been asked to do clubs and bars because DJ's like to have live affects, and they like to talk with designers so that their shows are awesome. I've never agreed to do it because it makes me utterly nervous. Plus I'm a full time student. Aint nobody got time for that.

Has anyone ever done a gig at a club or bar?
How was your experience?
What did you learn?
How well did you get paid?
Would you do it again?

Thanks guys.

Did between 1500 and 2k club jobs in the 70's and 80's. That work requires a lot of flexibility. Needless to say that was early on in the theatrical rock era, so a big issue was always making sure we could get the needed power. (carting in a 30k dimmer rack and the manager is pointing to a 20 amp outlet.) Pay wasn't bad for the time, but I was contracted by the management company, not the club or the band.

Lets just say this applies to technicians also:

proxy.php

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Welcome to the forum Dallas. Certainly there is much to be learned by doing the small gigs. Such experience will prove invaluable in your future. Good luck! Keep safe.

Done very very few of these gigs. Why? When asked generally they wanted me to do it for free (or very cheap), and supply all the gear. "no thanks"
But if they are willing to pay enough to justify going out the door, when you dont have another gig to do than "hey its a gig", its experience and a chance to make other contacts and make an impression.

Done quite a few. If you find the right club owners, they can be very profitable. Get someone stuck and needing something on short notice, get them to do lighting/video/audio with a full crew, and it can make your month easily (I have had a couple almost make my year).

If they don't want to pony up the money, or want a show that doesn't fit you can tell in about 5 minutes. Tell them no thanks and move on.