College Sound Designer Traveling Out of State for Summer Stock

Dejoux

Hey All,

I'm a Junior studying technical theater at college and I just accepted a design position for a summer stock company out of state. This is my first time traveling out of state for a summer job and I was looking for any tips or suggestions you're willing to share with me. The company is flying me out there at the beginning of the season and then back home at the end of the season, so what I bring has to fit on a plane (with reasonable expenses). My main concern is transporting tools four states over, although lately I've been toying with the idea of mailing them to the address awaiting me.

If this isn't really the place to post this, please let me know and I'll move it to a more appropriate thread.

Thanks!

I used to fly multiple times a week across the country for gigs, and the biggest thing I can say is ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ship your tools. It's just not worth the hassle of lugging a heavy Pelican to the airport and waiting around for it at baggage claim, plus paying extra for overweight baggage, plus the strong likelihood of something being broken or stolen by TSA agents, plus the distinct possibility of your stuff being lost with little possibility of timely compensation. This will also let you have one checked bag for clothes and such instead of needing to pay for a second one. Invest in a quality Pelican case and pack any fragile items securely, then lock it up and drop it off at your shipping company of choice. Put some insurance on it and make sure you have an up-to-date list of EVERYTHING in the box, including model numbers and prices. To be safe, ship it to the theatre of business office or the place where you're going so they can receive it if you're not around. Theoretically, the company should pay for this, although I know summerstocks can be stingy about that.