Control/Dimming Converting DMX to Micro-Plex

Hi,
I'm new to this but was recomended by a friend of a friend.
I'm producing a show at a reallllyy small and old theater. Their lighting system crashed before their last show.
Their system is controlled by MICRO-PLEX.
I have a DMX light board and was wondering if it's at all possible to CONVERT FROM MICRO-PLEX to DMX?
Please respond if you have any idea.
Thanks
Dan

Yes, it is possible. Unfortunately, it is not a do-it-yourself project. You will have to buy a conver like this one here from Doug Fleenor. I'm sure somone will chime in later with some different options for you.

The real question here is, what all is in the system that the Micro-plex(MP) :sick: is running. I know that NSI has packs, and small dimmer boards that run entirely off MP, and I also know that they make converters for the system. I would have to say that if there is a lot on the system that is being run by MP, I would really consider putting in a word and seeing if they would let you upgrade to DMX. FOR REALS!!!!

Just looking at the owner's manual on that converter epimetheus noted (NSI I/F 501) and that has some REALLY NEAT features! Specifically, it has an RS232 (computer serial port) input that would allow you to "print" scenes to the DMX system using simple ASCII characters! Although baud rate is limited to 9600, you only send the changes, so speed would not be a problem.

Some simple text editing, and you are limited only by your imagination and hard drive size.

Code ledger:
ASCII characters supported: F D G R - @ + : . 0-9
Fxx:xx.x (FADERATE, x=fade time in minutes : seconds . tenths),
Dccc-ccc@xxx (DIMMER LEVEL, c=channel number, -=to, +=and, x= level)
G (EXECUTE) R (RESET or BLACKOUT)
Carriage return after each command. Max fade time is 50 minutes.

Priced at $320