Creating an Endless Void??

I'm a HS lighting designer lighting Waiting for Godot, and we are doing it rather strangely. We are going to have the audience seated in the back of the stage on risers facing the pit areas, where the actors will be performing. The house will be behind the actors. The purpose of this massive space is to create "an endless void of loneliness" (thanks Director) and the seats/sconces/portals will take away from that. Any ideas on how to give the illusion of an immense empty space, without showing any of the various chairs/portals/doors that could take away from the atmosphere?

I do not have a good solution for you, but your post reminded me of our fall play "Our Town" this season.

The director wanted to do theater in the round, except for the fact that we have a proscenium house, and putting the audience on stage would: 1. Cut our audience area by two thirds by seating them on stage on risers. 2. Create very uncomfortable seating compared to our very nice theater seats. 3. Seriously hinder our lighting scheme (how to light the actors without lighting the audience) and 4. Most importantly, BREAK fire code for the space, since she wanted to block the front of the stage with seating.