Good for a new Sound System?

mattjh

The following is the proposal for our theatre sound system. Our theatre department is rather small and we only do 2 shows a year. We do currently have a system, but it has been abused (for a lack of a better word) by our student council (they turn up the volume and have blown some of them out) and over all it is not ideal for theatre use. We only have one decently working microphone and about 8 other crap ones. Since I'm new to Control Booth and researching for sound systems in general, I have contacted a few people and wanted a general opinion on these choices before we purchase them. Our price sheet is attached.

Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• new sound system price sheet.xlsx
    9.2 KB · Views: 266
How about some info on the theater. Seating capacity? dimensions? stage? proscenium? raked seating? balcony? any existing acoustic treatments? etc ...

Agreed, it's impossible to tell without knowing a lot more about your space. First thing I see though is that you have no NL4 cable on there, only XLR, so that may be something you'll need to rectify.

Is this list based on an "average" system design that you've created? Personally, I think this would be a better way to approach this, if you haven't already. Consider how you would place equipment for one of the most complicated shows you see yourself doing. Where are your speakers? Do you have a center cluster, and how many do you need to cover the house? Do you need delays? Side fills? Onstage monitors? Once you figure out your needs, you can start to choose equipment. Obviously you will be quite limited on what you can purchase, but you'll have a lot more luck on these boards posting something like "I'd love a UPA-1P, but I only have $xxx, what's a good substitute for my center cluster"?