I'm suddenly the church "lighting expert" because I said I'd help. Help!!!

My field of expertise is mobile production video. I've never done any stage lighting before and wow! There's a lot to it...

My current dilema (and why I signed up here) is that we're a new church who inherited a building with an old 1940's cathedral style sanctuary (long and tall). So now I'm trying to figure out how to light from the balcony from about 75 feet away... Oh, and on a budget. Did I say it's a new church?

I've been looking at ellipsoidals, but it seems like they are primarily for closer than 75'. But the follow spots either are too expensive or don't have the same features. Any ideas?

GOAL:
- Have a source on both sides of the balcony for a key/fill.
- Have 2 more for background lighting (the background is about 25' wide and 40' tall and we have no way to work off the ceiling, which is why I'm working from the balcony.

Budget: I'm guessing they'll go for somewhere between $1000 - $1,500 total.

Thanks so much for any help in advance!

More questions than answers - There are ellipsoidals that can go over 75', but only a couple would consume your budget. Even if you got some, and installed them on the balcony, unless it is very high, it will blind anyone facing them. Is there electric on the balcony, or elsewhere that you plan on using? Assuming 20 amp circuits, you can only operate 2, possibly 3 fixtures from a single circuit, assuming proper wiring and cables, which again add $, and would have to be verified to safely operate.

My preference would to get closer, because a shorter distance would give more fixture options. But this would likely involve rigging something - you would have to hire out, and of course get electric to those positions.

How do you plan on controlling the fixtures?

A couple of pictures of the space would allow us to better help you.

Are sidelights an option?