New to GIO Programming... Steps to a speedy success?

jjdrummer

Dear Control Booth,
I am aware that you can't rush programming; To do it right takes time. That being said, I am a high school student, and my director jokes with me (half joking, sometimes) about the fact that I am a slower programmer than some. We're upgrading a lot for our upcoming show, from a ETC Element Console to a ETC GIO running 2.2, (which I've used in the offline editor before,) and adding Mac 2k Washes and Profiles (Color mixing, electronic ballast). I am so very blessed to be working with these insane (for high school) fixtures and console, but it brings a whole new kind of programming into the picture. I have worked with intelligent fixtures [Mac 350s I believe] before but, being a naturally slower prgrammer, I'm looking for tips on working quickly.
Currently I'm planning on having macros for the water effect I will be using a lot, and focus macros/palettes for getting the intelligents focused to convenient locations quickly. I will also start really using color palettes and other palettes (which I haven't used too much before), for quicker scene creation. Along with these things for the intelligent fixtures, and submasters of areas and looks I like for the conventionals, what big things (or little things with big impact) should I know how to do? I'm hoping to narrow my time down to 20-30 hours of programming time, but I'll only have a week or maybe two.

(The show is Big Fish. I designed the lights, and it will be hung in the next week, it opens on the 16th for previews, but I am also interning assisting a lighting designer for a production of Othello, that opens the 4th. My time will be full.

[HASHTAG]#1[/HASHTAG]. Stop calling them intelligents. They are moving lights, or automated lights if you want to sound haughty. Only techies call them intels. Ain't nothin' 'telligent about them.