Newbie lighitng questions

Hi everyone. ;) I am new here but have read alot here on this forum.

I have been doing lighting for my high school production since 2007 and I had a few questions for you guys here. I work with a fairly old board, it has 2 scenes and all lighting changes are run manually between scene 1 and scene 2. We have no intelligent fixtures but I make do with what we have. When we have to move a light we go up in a lift to either move it, replace it, etc.

Anyway,I have read online of a "GO" button that is used for the actual lighting changes. I have not seen anything like this on our board with the 2 years I have worked on it, and it would be great to have because as of now all the changes are made manually between the 2 scenes. So, is this something that is only on newer boards or have I just missed it?

Basically, I set what I need on Scene 1, then for the cue switch it to what I have set on Scene 2, then change the lighting on scene 1, etc. Also, is it normal to do what I am doing with doing the cues manually between scene 1 and scene 2? I would love to be able to hook up my laptop and use DMX software to run the board (I know there is DMX software but havent looked in depth into it so I dont know if you could run a board from a computer with it) because that may be easier working with the cues. I work and set submasters and use them in the shows but mainly its between the scene 1 and scene 2 thing.

So if you guys can please answer my questions, it would be greatly appreciated. And sorry if these questions are so basic even though I have used the board for 2 years now, its just an old basic board and an old monitor hooked up to it, which I dont use as it works intermittently, but if it worked better I would use it much more often.

Thank you.