Oklahoma! Gunshot plate smash

Kryzm

So my company is doing Oklahoma!, and I've never done the show before, but the director wants somebody to fire a gun indoors and break a dinner plate. The idea I've been playing with so far is to have a mousetrap on the shelf behind the plate, the plate secured to the shelf on top and bottom. The mousetrap would be triggered from behind the wall, via string attached to the trigger. The only thing I'm having trouble with is how to get the mousetrap arm best to reach the plate. Has anybody ever used this effect before? Otherwise, is there a better way? Googling it hasn't helped yet, so I'm at a loss. Thanks in advance for your help!

Chris

Over the last 50 years, I've done a plate break gag more times than I can count, in more ways than I can remember. Mouse traps (or rat traps, better - stronger spring) rod pushed through the wall by a stage hand, solenoid activated by push button, sound activated relay, pneumatic piston with an air valve or relay, etc. ad infinitum.

The main thing I have learned is that the simplest solution is usually the best solution in any given situation. KISS rule of engineering.

Now, I've also done Oklahoma at least a dozen times, and I don't remember a gunshot plate break anywhere. Does the director want it in the smokehouse with Curly and Jud? During "Kansas City", maybe "The farmer and the Cowman", maybe Curly and Jud's fight at the end????

Where is the plate when it beaks? You said on a plate shelf on the wall, is the wall solid, hard framed or a soft cover flat or open frame style or.....?

Also, give me an idea of your budget, time line and a little info on the shop and who will build it.

Answer the questions and I will be glad to try and help you figure out a simple affordable way to work the gag.

Last edited: