OMG I need help guys (and gals)... Gel selection.

aero

8O

Hi guys I am a complete NOOB and am in need of help desperatly. I am making a light plot for "Aristocrats" for a class and cannot find any info on gel selection. I am looking for a gel for late afternoon outdoor lighting (for backyard scenes) and for a lowlight indoor scene in front of a fireplace. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

PS> I am using GamColor filters. I have the complete swatch book.

For a late afternoon/sunset type of setting I would suggest using:
324 Dark Bastard Amber (317 Airpocot Rosco) or
375 Flame (18 Flame Rosco) or
320 Peach (318 Mayan Sun Rosco) makes more of a warm accented afternoon wash or

And for the fire effect:
280 Fire Red (19 Fire Rosco). This is an intense red that is ideal for fire's, or you could try mixing in a bit of orange with the fire red to create depth.

If you arn't sure which one you think would be best, try getting a small torch and putting the swatch about 2inchs from your hand and shine the torch through it. This will give a generally good idea of what the colour will look like, alternativly you can do it onto a white piece of paper!

Hope this helps....
(I work for Rosco now haha, if anyone wants gel info or conversion sheets let me know, id be more than happy to help out)

The specific colorings mentioned are good for the specials you may decide to employ, however you shouldn't be thinking about just that sort of color scheme first.