Replacements

I'm a high school teacher and we replaced our Express with an Element. I've never used an Ion, so this is all hearsay, but my understanding is that if you intend to have students or lay people run your board, the Element is a safer choice. If it's professionals, then the Ion. I love our Element, and I've had no problem running six Selador Vivid-R LEDs, two DesignSpots, two Right Arms, and a handful of spinners on it. That being said, we still run mostly conventional and if we were to ever seriously switch over to more smart lighting, I'd start running out of space pretty quick.

I spent the past year working at a high school (actually, the very one I attended!), and we replaced our Express with an Ion. The Ion's not a great busking desk, or at least the way we have ours set up (Ion + 2x10 fader wing), and that tends to make it tougher for less technical people to work with the board. If your students have time to go in and just play around with the Ion to get comfortable with it, it can be a fantastic desk for your program.

In my opinion the Leprecon LPC-48V and LPC-96V have been designed as replacements for the Express.
Many more modern features. Leprecon was actively soliciting input from people looking for Express replacements shortly after ETC discontinued the line and it looks like they've done a pretty good job of incorporating the wish lists. Not saying its better than an Element or Ion, but if you are looking for something uncomplicated for specific applications, this is probably it.

I don't run boards every day like many of you but is operating an Ion that much different than operating an Element? I thought they were both the same syntax, but maybe the additional functions and features of the Ion makes it harder. I suggested the Ion stretch because it seems the hard encoders make programming automated fixtures a lot easier. Tell me if I'm wrong about that.