The Ten Commandments of the Qlab Computer

sosayweall

I have been using Qlab for six years now. Almost every show I have worked I find a way to integrate it to the show. Learn from my mistakes and enjoy! Let me know if I missed anything.

Thou shall never run updates during a run of a show.

Running updates on a dark day between weekends may seem like a good idea…. it’s not. Updates tend to make computers more secure and reliable, well at least that is the intention. Don’t risk a perfectly functioning systems to some unknown variable.

Thou shall keep the computer off the internet, by any means necessary.

Preventing the computer from accessing the internet is the only way to stop automatic updates.

Thou shall only keep relevant show files and assets on thy Macintosh.

Having two shows on a computer can make things confusing when you are tracking down sound effects, videos, and scripts (the computer programing kind). Imagine if all your shows were still on your computer. Archive old shows on at least 2 drives and leave them off your show machine.

Thou shall not eat or drink in the presence of thy Macintosh.
This is self-explanatory.

Thou shall run regular backups on thy Macintosh.
Backing up often and on multiple drives is the best way to archive old versions or shows and to better your chances on a speedy recovery on a hard drive death. It’s not about if, it’s about when.

Thou shall always be honest with thy Qlab license.
At the time of this writing, there are certain things you can do to use an old rental license out of the period it was written for. I’ve done this a few times to quickly test a theory I had, or when the clock struck midnight and I forgot to ask the “powers that be” to pay for a new rental license.

Renting Qlab licenses is cheap. Buying Qlab licenses is cheap too. Please, be honest and use the program legally. The people at Figure53 have bills, families, and love what they do. Compensate them for the hard work they put into the program.