Whole Hog III screen blank

Kurt

I'm new to the Whole Hog, so I've been playing with it to get familiar with the controls. I was looking into creating a fixture personality by hand... Not because I need to be able to but simply so I knew how it worked, and when I tried creating the personality both screens went completely black. I could right click for a command line but that was about it. Is that normal? I had to reboot to get it back -___-

The Fixture Builder on the H3 was never the best. It's better on the 4. However, that being said, you more than likely experienced a "Desktop" crash…not an entire console crash.

So…that being said A) to use Fixture Builder for the 3, use Hog3PC. It was a little better. Also be sure to check the library online…it might be there already.
And B) when there's a crash like that, you can hold PIG+OPEN+BACKSPACE and that brings up the Task Manager. The H3 (and H4 for that matter) is a multi function controller. You can generally have a desktop crash, but still have playback and editors going. Generally, Editors are the one key item that will require a reboot. To restart a process from the window, right click on the item and click on "Restart <process>"

Hope that helps..

The Fixture Builder on the H3 was never the best. It's better on the 4. However, that being said, you more than likely experienced a "Desktop" crash…not an entire console crash.

So…that being said A) to use Fixture Builder for the 3, use Hog3PC. It was a little better. Also be sure to check the library online…it might be there already.
And B) when there's a crash like that, you can hold PIG+OPEN+BACKSPACE and that brings up the Task Manager. The H3 (and H4 for that matter) is a multi function controller. You can generally have a desktop crash, but still have playback and editors going. Generally, Editors are the one key item that will require a reboot. To restart a process from the window, right click on the item and click on "Restart <process>"

Hope that helps..