Adding Channels to a board or additional side dmx control? LED light boxes

DannyDepac

Hi Everyone,

Thanks in advance for any help given. For background - I am a HS teacher that does stage directing (Sets, sound, lights etc). I'm trying to decide if building LED light strip boxes would be worth it.. not sure I have the capacity to control them on my current board.

So my HS has a Strand Lighting Preset Palette II (32/64) Lighting Control Console (120VAC) by Phillips. Its not exactly the greatest but its all we have and serves our purposes for the time being. We don't have a lot of fixtures but after the led color sources we rent are hooked up we are pretty much out of channels (we daisy chain them and each chain takes up about 6 channels to change color and strobe effect)

Can this board do more than 64 channels at a time? Can it do 100? The description says 32 channels in two scene mode, 64 channels in one scene mode, 100-channel control over your lights"

Is there an in expensive side system I can run maybe on a laptop or table.... some sort of extension? I know there are wireless dmx controllers but even that would need a separate controller.

Thanks!

The most basic Preset Palette II seems to have 1024 channels. http://www.grandstage.com/images/pdf/palette/presetPaletteII_Data_101210NA_EA1.pdf The 32/64 refers to sliders, which may control onlyone channel or may control a lot more, and that's using an aged "channel" concept.

So, what all are you controlling? How many dimmers? How many ColorSource fixtures? What else?

Not sure what you mean by "LED light strip boxes". Scenery? Border lights? Foot lights? Yes, you can control LED tape light, but you need the driver as well as the tape.

Hi Everyone,