Advice for rental mic selection

gafftaper

Senior Team
Senior Team
Fight Leukemia
My kids' school does a big festival in the Fall with carnival rides, art show, car show, food, and live music. We purchased a small sound system last year for the school. This year instead of paying a outside company I'll be running sound. There will be 8 bands over the weekend playing a variety of musical styles. I'll have 20-30 minutes to strike, setup, and test mics, all with the audience eating their dinner and watching. So I need to plan things out well. I've been running sound for over 30 years (since 5th grade), but my real talents lie more in lighting and in the shop. So I need a little advice to help me as I'm preparing:

1) I have limited channels so I'm going to have to go with 3 mics for the drum kit. I've been studying on-line about the various drum mic techniques ("recorderman" and "Glyn Johns" for example) but I'm concerned about not having the time to properly tweak the position of two overheads to prevent phasing issues. So I'm thinking that one overhead would be quicker to position and less potential troubles. (Note my house sound will be mono so I won't gain anything from panned overheads). Am I foolish to go with a kick, snare, and one overhead technique vs kick and two overheads?

2) If I do go with kick, snare, and one overhead. Considering I'm going to have a lot of different styles of music, different types of drum kits, and no real opportunity to re-position mics once we are rolling. Where should I position that one overhead mic as a general strategy?

3) If I go with one overhead mic, which model should I rent?

4) If I go with two overhead mics, which model should I rent?

5) If I go with a kick, snare, overhead technique. I'm assuming an SM57 would be just fine for the snare. Any complaints with that choice?

6) Kick drum mics. I'm thinking whatever is cheapest/available from: Beta 52, D112, E902. Favorites, Complaints, or others I should ask for?