All in 1 Linux show control system

I've spent the last hour looking on the forum to find something pointing to something I'm looking for, and no luck...so I'm starting a thread.

What i want to do:
-Run sound cues (up to 8 channels out)
-Run lighting cues
-Run video cues
-all by pressing [space bar]

oh...and did I mention all this on a Linux box running Ubuntu 64bit?
yeah, that's the problem. I'm new to Linux. I know its the most solid OS out there, and most of the programs are free for it.

I was running Show Cue System on a Vista machine (laptop), and loved it...sadly SCS does not run on Linux. After contacting them they suggested I use Wine to emulate Windows but no such luck.

I'm trying to get MagicQ working but something just isn't playing nice.

Ardour isn't playing nice with JACK, and JACK isn't playing nice at all.

If I had the time (and patience) I would learn how to make my own program, and make something super sexy that would make everyone fall in love with me...and so on, and so forth. But, alas, I do not.

My current set-up at the theatre is 24 dimmers, but I'm looking at getting some LED PARs to permanently mount as backlight. So I need something that could handle the full 512, and a colour selection wheel would be nice.

Any suggestions?

it sounds like you want an extremely complicated piece of software that your trying to place on a free op system.... two things that come to mind...

Light people (love money)
Sound People (love money)

and a third that came up as i was typing

Light people do not like sound people (in most cases)

so the likely hood of something to be cheap or free or even cost effective doing both lights and sound from one system is extraordinarily rare.

Not to mention my feelings on allowing one computer to run both lights and sound for a show (even if its a DJ show). Personally its one area where i like to separate and conquer sort of thing.

Why do you want it to be Linux?