Control/Dimming Analog to DMX (s/b DMX-to-Analog)

wiggin11

I am very new to the lighting world. I am just now starting to learn the lingo that goes along with it and what certain things need....so I hope to keep up.

I have a very old Analog system in my cafeteria. They light board in on the stage behind a curtain, but I am wanting to put an external board out in the cafeteria.
Its a 12 channel dimmer system with an output of 0-12 volts.

I think I have 2 options....
1. Buy an Analog light board (can't find one)
2. Buy a converter. (don't know which type i need)

I would rather go the converter route. Any help the professionals can give me would be much appreciated.

Converters are very expensive and often require someone from a shop to come set it up and calibrate it.

DMX to analog converters let you use a DMX console to drive analog dimmers they are common and not terribly expensive. The issue you will have is the connector from the converter to your dimmer rack.

The converter is not terribly difficult. If you do not feel competent to wire one up you might want to get your local theatrical distributor to do it for you

DMX to analog converters let you use a DMX console to drive analog dimmers they are common and not terribly expensive. The issue you will have is the connector from the converter to your dimmer rack.

The converter is not terribly difficult. If you do not feel competent to wire one up you might want to get your local theatrical distributor to do it for you

It is an old Edwin Jones system and I was going to have the local guy come out and wire it for me. Though it doesn't look to complicated.

I found a DMX to Analog converter online but it said 0-10 VDC (I think I have 0-12 volts output) Would this be ok?

It is an old Edwin Jones system and I was going to have the local guy come out and wire it for me. Though it doesn't look to complicated.