Wireless Antenna Distro Advice

I have recently be asked to look into purchasing 20 channels of wireless for my job and I have decided on Sennheiser EM300's divided into 3 10U cases.

I'm currently wrestling with how to handle the antenna distribution. Is it okay to stick with the 1/4-waves if all of the receivers are on stage? Should I get distros for each case for a total of six paddles? That sounds messy considering they will move between our venues, and which distro would be best?

I have little experience with systems of this size and I have more experience engineering than I do installing, is there a better option than either of those?

How did you decide that the 300-series was the best option for your needs?

For that many channels (especially in the typically-tight RF environments around theatre spaces), I'd be inclined to go with a higher-end model or different brand (Shure UHF-R, for example). If you haven't had an RF survey done of your venue, now is the time.

As far as antenna distribution goes, you can usually loop out of one distro to the next, up to a certain number of units.

Also, what is the budget?

Last edited:
The 300-series was recommended to me by a colleague though I did research on popular brands and reviews, however I am open to other suggestions. I hear you on the RF survey, it has not been done and I was operating under the assumption that since I haven't had problems in the spaces that I wouldn't with this.

I think what I'm taking from this is that I'm out of my depth and should really pursue a professional installer.

Concerning budget, the president of the college is pushing this event so I haven't been given a number only a vague carte blanche.