Anti-Slip/Skid

ACTSTech

So I was dialed up because of an accident and asked for advice (I have LOTS of experience in accidents, usually I cause them, but this time I wasn't involved!)

A community theater did a show and had a little girl who had been tap dancing slip and fall and crash into the side of a flat. Other than a bruised arm and ego, she's fine. The theater put hardboard down and then painted the flooring for the show with acrylic paints. The issue was the taps on the acrylic paint and hardboard and the TD asked if I had suggestions. I thought for sure Rosco made a clear-coat but I can't find it anywhere. Anyone with some quick suggestions?

Reactions: Van
Find a Janitorial supply in your area. There are several products manufactured for maintenance of Vinyl tile flooring which provide a clear or low gloss finish. They can me applied with a mop and removed with a water/ ammonia cleaning solution just like other mop-on floor finishes. Be aware that if they painted the floor with Acrylics striping the finish from the floor with ammonia may also affect the acrylic paint. I'd give you a name but there are a billion of them out there and some are only available regionally. Ask the Janitorial supply, they'll help you out. Just be sure you tell them what you are doing. You don't want gallons of non-removable, or something with grit in it.

"Native" marley in a bottle - 1.5 litres of sugary soda beverage (we used 7-Up) in a full mop bucket of clear water, and mop the stage with it. If it's too sticky use less sugary soda beverage; remedy an existing application with a damp mop.