Any ideas what this means?

MNicolai

Well-Known Member
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Location
Sarasota, FL
Something's not working correctly for one reason or another. Give ETC tech support a ring in the morning and they'll be able to help you out.

Someone from ETC may respond to this thread too, but a phone call can be much more efficient a way of troubleshooting than an internet forum, especially if you can call while you are standing in front of the dimmer rack.
 

Dustincoc

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Location
Madrid, New York
I get this every once in a while on my CEM + racks, it's random display hieroglyphics.

If there's nothing on-stage that can stand a momentary blackout on that rack, just hit the reset button and it'll clear.
Good to know, I was hoping for a quick fix. I only work in this space about once a year and I know very little about Unison systems which this rack is linked to. The former school principal/director knows the most about the system but that's not a whole lot and he hasn't been around much since retiring.

This rack contains the house light dimmers and those connected to the floor pockets. The "ropelights" written on the bottom dimmer is what was plugged into the non-dimmble circuit( Edison plugs on the railways for DMX toys, which I noticed today are also power the aisle lights).
 

Dustincoc

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Location
Madrid, New York
Next question, How do I reset it? I've always dealt with the board and fixtures and as far back as a hard patch panel. I've never needed to change much in a rack before.
 

len

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Location
Chicagoland
I find that a targeted high intensity manual impact adjustment does the trick.

Seriously, call either ETC or the installer and get it repaired. It's probably nothing serious.
 

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Joined
May 28, 2009
Location
Phoenix, Az
Breakerdown or pull the cem go for a walk get a coffe smoke a cig and slide It back in.
 

DavidNorth

ETC Rigging General Manager
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
Departed Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Location
Madison, WI
This is a result of using Rope Light ;-)
Now that's funny!

Actually, I'm not 100% sure, but I think we have a software update that takes care of that issue. The module runs just fine and there will be no issues with dimming - you just can't see anything on the screen.

Give us a call when you have a couple minutes, please.

David
 

Users who are viewing this thread