Anything at comparable price point that rivals ETC ColorSource PAR?

dreamist

Hey friends..

I've poked around a bit and I don't see alot new in the static wash LED land, but figured I'd poke my head up and ask.. last time I demo'd units, I landed on the ETC ColorSource PAR for my use case.. it's more than a year since then -- anything new in the landscape at a comparable price point?

Primary use case is theatrical back/top light, short throw (my grid is at around 14.5ft). I've been using cheap china movers for this purpose for a few years now, and I'm ready to bite the bullet for something with a real dimming curve. The quote I just got back for CS PARs puts them in the $700 territory once I buy a Med and Wide round lens and a C Clamp.

Things I like about the CS PAR:
- light, and can be had with RJ45 connections
- great dimming curve
- powerful "enough" for the throw to provide back/top light for plays when mixed with 575w conventionals (S4 Jr Zoom is my workhorse instrument)

Things I don't like about the CS PAR:
- all the lens options needed to have zoom options
- definitely not the punchiest in terms of intensity
- while the light source is homogenized, it's still got the LED look of having a few fairly bright emitters.. so what I call partially homogenized..

I'm looking at buying a relatively modest crop of 10 of them.. any instruments I should definitely look at before taking the plunge? The only new-er instruments that I've seen that look interesting are the Colorado 3 Solo and the Ovation F-915FC -- but those are both quite a bit more in terms of price point (I think $1200 to $1700?), and the Ovation looks quite a bit larger/heavier..

So.. any fixtures I've overlooked at similar price point to the CS Par that I should know of?

Thanks!

Joe

IN addition to the great dimming curve - one thing the units have is a Lime emitter. IMHO use of a Lime color is the mix really does make things work better.