Apply Effect to Channel in ETC Element

WFair

I know this is basic stuff...but I somehow cannot get it to work. I am new to the Element. I have some k9 Bulldog (led par fixtures) that are set up in 5-channel mode and patched properly into my console. Lets assume the are all in channel 35. I recorded a submaster with channel 35 at FF for all three colors and white. I can successfully fade the lights on/off with my submaster fader. I now want to add a color chase overlay (so my submaster is general intensity and then the effect runs to change colors). I am trying the built in effects so for example, 910 (color smooth) sounds like a good option. I went to [live] and did [chan]35 [effect] 910 @ FF
But i still just have white light.

HELP!! Thanks!

Submasters in Element (and other Eos Family consoles) hold ALL information for a channel at a level. That is to say that unless when you recorded you said [35]{Intensity}[Record][x] then the submaster is holding all the Non-Intensity Parameters at a value as well- thus preventing the effect from taking over.
If you do not use the submaster, but instead say Chan [35][Effect][910][Enter] and then give the channel intensity using the level wheel instead of the sub does it work? If so then the submaster holding non-intensity parameters is in fact the issue.

Pretty much what I was going to say. You want to make sure the submaster has no recorded data to override the effect, by default submasters are HTP (Highest takes Precedence) as well (a good thing to keep in mind while programming).
You can also try having your effect included in a submaster, this way you can fade the effect up and out. Create a submaseter and change its {mode} to Effect, then apply the effect to the desired parameters/channels in blind. You can read how to do this in the manual (it has also been discussed in at least one thread here).