Aspiring Lighting Designer and Controller

Hello,

My names Anthony and I'm a high school student in upstate New York. In the past 3 years i have become highly interested in lighting design and control. I volunteered countless hours inside and outside of my school designing, controlling, and managing shows of various types. Recently I've begun updating my school's conventional lighting system. With this I refurbished our schools old projector room into a very functional sound and light room. With this I rewired our school's Leprecon dimmer as it was damaged some years ago. I also purchased and wired at 500ft 30ch Mackie sound snake to work with our old 1530 Mackie unpowered mixer. Currently I'm working on incorporating Daslight's XLR-DMX control and software into our system. This is all to be updated for our upcoming productions and concert series in the fall. With the use of conventional lighting in our auditorium I have been asked to teach several classes and start a club within my school teaching my peers how to effectively use the fixtures in productions, repair and replace any unit, wire, design, and control all technical aspects of shows.

This summer and durring the school year on weekends, I am looking to work with anyone near Albany, New York. I'm open to anything small or big and as i would like to work for pay I'm also open to volunteering my time.

Hi Anthony,

Welcome to CB! Take a look around the extensive Glossary and Wiki, and search through some old posts - there's an enormous wealth of knowledge available here. I'm from upstate New York too. How old are you, what year in school, where are you from? We're a very nosy bunch around here. I always think it's cool to meet other people who are really into technical theatre from this area. Who knows, maybe we'll wind up working a Union call together sometime :).

Welcome to the booth! While I admire your work ethic, I sure hope you had a license to do all that electrical work!