AutoCAD vs Inventor

bobgaggle

Can't seem to find a discussion of this yet... Thoughts on this? I know designers and lighting guys like VW, but on the fabrication side CAD seems to be the standard. I've been using CAD for a few years and have made my foray into the 3d side of it. In the interest of trying to continually learn stuff, I've been thinking about learning Inventor. Seems like it would be useful for some of the fiddly complicated steel bits we make (2 axis hinging bracket things, I think we've all had to make something weird at some point), also for when we need to know where load will be carried etc..

Anyone have input?

I'm a 35 year user of AutoCAD, and don't know Revit nor Inventor BUT, I believe some large rigging companies use Inventor for their shop drawings, so I'm guessing what you sense is correct.

I like plain CAD for doing the majority of 2D renders and orthogonal projections. It is clumsy to render to 3D. Inventor is better at the 3D rendering than AutoCad was, and at least to me provided better visibility to how an item would be machined/manufactured/assembled. Now, take this with a grain of salt, I have not used inventor since 2005. AutoCAD 2009 was better than 2000 or 2003 versions at 3D rendering, but still a bit clunky. I'm just starting to use EagleCAD - but that's for a different hobby.

2D CAD is still the industry standard and likely will be for quite some time. That being said, we are starting to see construction submittal requirements starting to include 3D drawings/3D capable drawings for BIM modeling. Many if not all engineering programs these days are teaching primarily in 3D. Learning Revit/Inventor/Solidworks along with Navisworks makes a lot of sense for the future.