Control/Dimming automated control from a PC

giwiens

Hi everyone. I'm hoping someone call help me out with a project that I have been working on for a while. My background is audio and video/film projection systems. I have essentially no lighting experience but I am doing my best to learn. Just to recap where I work from my intro post: I work in Theatre Operations at the science center in Vancouver, BC.

The project I have is to control the lights in our automated video projection theatre so that the house lights come up after the show finishes and go down when the show starts. We also occasionally have just that require audience interaction where the participants select what will happen by pressing numbers on a voting keypad, so it would be nice for the lights to come up at those times as well so people could see what they're doing.

What I have for equipment is as follows:
- a computer with WindowsXP on it that works as the video server
- a Strand CD80 lighting dimmer
- an Enttec USB->DMX device

So far I have managed to get the lights to work using theatrical software running from my laptop so I can program in scenes and such and get them to change when told to. What I would like to be able to have is to have a command or batch that I could run that would change the lights to the level I need. So far I haven't been able to figure out how to do this. I'm hoping I won't have to write individual programs to set the lights to each level as I haven't done any serious computer programming since first year college and that was in turbopascal (gives you an idea how long it has been).

Any thoughts? Please let me know if you need more info from me.

Garth

Sorry I can't help you directly but I have a clarification question that may help someone else... and also bump your thread up to the top again!

I'm a little confused why you can't just create a 45 minute program that's all timed.
cue 1 houselights on wait 9 minutes
cue 2 house to half wait 2 minutes