AV Modeling/Drafting In Revit

RobDraw

Hi all,

I know I'm not in the right place but someone directed me to an old thread here (https://www.controlbooth.com/threads/av-bim-workflow-in-revit.28873/page-2) and I haven't been able to find much else on the subject. I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction. I just started a new drafting position in the AV design field. I have plenty of drafting experience but not in the AV industry. I'm hoping someone can direct me to a more suitable forum.

I'm looking for others doing drafting in the AV industry to exchange information, best practices, industry standards, geared towards producing design documents using Revit/AutoCAD.

Regards,

Rob

Welcome Rob!

I'm just getting to know Revit and finding a broad mix of likes and dislikes. I think I've finally created a 'family' for stage curtains that is manageable.

I don't do much A/V but do a lot of lighting including one-lines and device details. IMHO basic drafting functions are extremely limited in Revit, likely on purpose as they have AutoCAD file linking. Getting things into the general model so that the mechanical guys don't block my rigging is incredibly important as is generating client walk throughs. I'm sticking with 2D drafting for detail elements.

Step 1: Identify what level of detail and information you want represented on your drawings.
Step 2: Manipulate Revit to give you what you want in an efficient workflow, resisting the urge to overdraft.

There are a number of different ways to model in Revit. I've seen lots of AV done throw symbol plans like have been done for ages. My personal preference is to model in 3D like God (Autodesk) intended and tag elements. There are pros and cons either way. Really depends what you want to show and what your other collaborators, if any, need to see.

Welcome Rob!