Back Lighting Black Scrim

Esoteric

Hey guys. I have never tried to back light a black scrim before. Is this even possible? I have always front lit black scrims or lit the actors behind them. This is the first time I have been asked to light a black scrim.

Any experience with this?

Mike

They take color and projections pretty well. I would suggest if you are trying to color it, hit is from as high of an angle as possible. It won't act like a white scrim, but it will take color and patterns pretty well. What are you going to have behind it?

Behind it? Empty space. One of the reasons I am coloring it and making it opaque (hopefully).

Mike

It really depends on what you want to achieve. Are you using the scrim as a cyc or are you trying to light a scrim-through? If you want the cyc to go opaque just hit it from steep angles in relation to the scrim from either the side or top. They usually take templates nicely too.

Yeah, making a cyc. I have lit scrim throughs before, but never used a black scrim as a cyc.

Mike

You'll have to keep the empty space behind the scrim VERY dark for the scrim to opaque.. which is why everyone advises hitting it from a steep angle either to the side or top... you don't want the light that passes through the scrim to land on whatever is behind it or you're going to wind up revealing it.

Some of the most beautiful and rich cyc effects I've ever seen are done with a white cyc behind a black scrim. The sense of depth is really remarkable, but the real payoff is that the black scrim sort of becomes a neutral density filter for the audience's view of the cyc... which means that I can dump bright light in saturated colors on the cyc to create beautiful images without the cyc becoming so intense that it draws focus away from the actors!

Art