best boundary mic?

chouston

I'm looking for opinions for the best, most cost effective boundary mic out there. Good quality with some bang for the buck. I'm a little new to the sound game (knuckle draggin' scenic guy here) and would like some advice for buying a few boundary mics for a small private upper school's theatre department. Thanks in advance for the input.

Just remember even the great PCC160 can be overwhelmed by the sound of foot steps. If you have a hollow "clompy" stage you are going to hate what you get from the boundary mics. Personally I'm more of a fan of using things like shot guns and hanging choir type mics. You will still pick up a lot, you can leave them installed all the time, and you don't have to listen to every foot step.

On the other hand if you are doing a tap show the PCC 160 can't be beat.

Are they any better/worse? Is the cable a bit more substantial? The price is right.

The TM-125C I recommended above has a built in connector and cable , no more mini connector to get stomped on and break. MUCH more durable, although you can order the traditional disconnecting cable you find on the old PCC; same price for both. I would say they are on par with the PCC 160's, not worse sounding.

~Dave

It's usually a wise decision to place a felt pad or pillow below boundary mic's to help isolate some of the footstep sounds, but there's not much you can do.

I've used PCC160's and some higher-end Audio-Technica's but often it's a desperate last resort that usually follows hanging mic's not picking up enough. For some shows, they've been sort of useful, though. I did A Chorus Line a few years ago and the director kept wanting to hear more of the foot steps. I put down the PCC160's and he was upset that he could no longer understand the voices of the singers.

Easy isolation can solve quite a bit of that problem.