Better Sound, Mixing Style

macsound

I've been running sound for about 20 years, lots of musical theatre but then as musical styles have changed, I ventured more into mixing rock music, also for corporate events and churches with full orchestras, choir and rock bands.
After listening to lots of modern music and the recent Greatest Showman craze, I'm wondering if i'm falling into the same over-producing pits that these producers are, but in live sound.
I feel like most (like 90%) of modern music is lifeless, even when it seems like they are using real instruments and Greatest Showman, although trying to be like musical theatre, feels totally flat.

I'm assuming this is from extreme EQ and compression to try to get every last tiny bit of amplitude out of the digital signal, and this was far less of a problem with the limitations of tape and analog processing equipment.

What I'm worried about, and in order to continue honing my craft with the continuing advent of technology and resources we tend to bury ourselves in, where should I be careful that I'm doing too much, or techniques to ensure in our live (and maybe recording) ventures that we're not overproducing like so much of the industry is doing.

I'm assuming this is from extreme EQ and compression to try to get every last tiny bit of amplitude out of the digital signal, and this was far less of a problem with the limitations of tape and analog processing equipment.

The digital noise floor is 20dB lower than the analog circuits built around the digi-stuff. There are plenty of old and new soundhumans who didn't get the memo or, like certain politicians, refuse to "believe".

I had a young guy tell me I was "wasting bits." I replied that unused "ones" are returned to the reservoir for reuse.

My $0.02... If you feel the need to put a compressor on every channel, stop yourself and ask why. Compressors should only be needed for vocals. The same goes for EQ. If every mic needs radical EQ, something is wrong.