Bio

askiboot

Hi, Im relatively new to Control Booth, and I have a question about writing a Bio. I was asked by a person at the Children's Theatre Company in Minneapolis to write a bio for a summer internship. I have never written a bio as my high school doesn't include bios for techies. What are some suggestions for writing this bio? I have worked on 15 productions in 4 years doing a bunch of jobs and working my way up to the student technical director. What are some things that I should say and do you have any examples?

Thanks,
Alex

For examples, just read the program/Playbill/Stagebill from any professional production. Here's one example: A Chorus Line on Tour - Official Website. Not much difference between tech and acting biographies in this case.

That being said, here's one of the best, from the above site:
THARON MUSSER (Original Lighting Designer) has been the lighting designer for 117 Broadway productions among which are: Long Days Journey into Night; Mame; Applause; Same Time, Next Year; A Little Night Music; California Suite; The Prisoner of Second Avenue; The Sunshine Boys; Ballroom; The Act; The Real Thing; Tribute; They’re Playing Our Song and 42nd Street. Ms. Musser won Tony Awards for Follies, Dreamgirls and A Chorus Line. She was the staff lighting designer for the Phoenix Theatre, the National Repertory Theatre Company, the American Shakespeare Festival, the Mark Taper Forum and the Dallas and Miami Opera Companies.

Once you have a draft, we'd be glad to help you with it.:)

Thanks Very Much!!

here's what I was thinking, first off I think it is for a bulletin board of interns, so it can be longer than something in a playbill and can include interests and other things.