Build my own

DuckJordan

Touring IATSE Member
I want to build my own mobile sound setup for gigs of 200-400 people in an open field or building setup I would like to really only spend $8,000 on the whole system and would like to build my own speaker cabs and rack system. the board would really only need 12 inputs with 4 outputs preferably XLR for mains and 1/4" for monitors, the whole setup should only really have the mixing console, a 12 input snake, 2 amplifiers one for mids/high and one for lows, idealy only 1 eq (if you can put both subs and mids/highs on the same eq, and a crossover if needed. again i only want to spend a complete max of $8,000 on the parts/system but cheeper would be better its for a weekend warrior kind of thing.

thanks,
jordan

A few quick questions come to mind.

Are you an experienced carpenter? Do you understand acoustic design priciples? Have you considered active (self powered) speakers?

to your questions, Yes i am a very skilled carpenter, i have also a friend who would help me build and design these cabinets and he has worked in the industry for quite some time. he used to build speaker cabinets for a living, i think he worked for Altec Lansing when they were bigger. I would like to have all the control by the board so yes i have considered powered speakers its just running power to those would be harder than just running audio line.

You'll save some money.

Unless you are a measurement and crossover guru, you'll most likely have a lower performing end product.

When you sell (to upgrade or get out) you'll loose a larger percentage of your cost than if you had factory made gear.

i don't think I'll end up selling just because after i either upgrade or get out of it ill still use it for my own personal use for my band.

Several different issues. What do you mean when you say "mobile sound setup"? How mobile is it and what is included? I'm thinking in terms of power source, power distribution, transportation, etc.