Building a Sound System- HS auditorium/theater

manuallyfocused

Hi all,

This is going to be one of those "How should I spend my hypothetical money?" type of threads, so be ye forewarned!

I'm a newly minted tech director/designer/teacher at a private HS (also teaching folk dance and stagecraft) and I'm working to transform our aging multi-purpose auditorium into a functional theater space. I've been told that at some point in the future they plan to gut the auditorium and turn it into a "real" theater, but that will be dependent on a donor who wants to put their name on it. So it could happen next week, or 10 years from now.
I wrote out a really long post on the lighting forum here: http://www.controlbooth.com/threads/building-a-lighting-inventory-baby-steps.37679/. It has some more info about our school and the specifics of the space, and a ton of info on what I'm thinking about doing as far as lighting goes.

For sound, I have far less information. While I'm really a set design/build guy, I've played around with lights at least a little bit, but the most I've ever done with sound is laugh at sound guy ponytail jokes and stare in slackjawed amazement at motorized faders dancing their way across massive consoles (while being operated by an awesome sound guy with a ponytail). That's only a little bit facetious, I still think motorized faders are possibly the coolest thing ever.