Can I do both?

I have been a technician my whole life. I have been incredibly blessed to fill many different roles and work with some amazing people.

For the past year and a half or so I have also been getting into acting. I have had leads in Of Mice and Men, and Someone Who'll Watch Over Me, so I consider myself to be fairly decent. However recently some of the people I work with have told me its wrong to do both tech and acting.

I don't exactly know what their reasoning is so I wanted to find out of if anyone here has any ideas or thoughts on whether or not there is such a thing as both a technician and an actor?

Thanks!

futurecm21

I wouldn't do both at the same time ...

But I wouldn't have any problem with someone who freelanced as a tech between acting gigs ... or acted between tech gigs.

Someone who says "it's wrong" to be both a tech and an actor has some personal insecurity issues to work out.

For the sake of my own curiosity. When you say you have been a technician "my whole life," how long has that been, roughly?

Last edited:
It seems like a fine idea, but no, you wouldn't want to do them both at the same time :p

although i have.

I've filled in for a lead once (had somebody else run the lights i had cued)
and filled in for a small part(ran lights from backstage when i wasn't onstage, walked on to do my part with a live headset(headset was also part of the costume for the character, so it fit))

don't recommend doing both at once, but if you want to do both, go for it (if you're in high school, make sure you know BEFORE you start the show, which one you'll be doing)