Wireless Cell Phones and Wireless Microphones?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I had something interesting happen tonight, but first I'll set up the scenario-

I am a high school student lighting operator working tonight in our auditorium for a show put on as a fundraiser for one of our clubs, but I am also familiar with our sound setup. Our wireless microphone receivers (8 SLX4 and 8 ULXS4) are on a shelf above the lighting console, so it usually falls onto my lap to look into signal problems.

Just before the show began, I looked up to check that we were receiving signal from all of our mics (2 SLX1, and 3 SLX2). In the 30 seconds between when I checked the receivers and when the National Anthem soloist walked on stage with an SLX2, the channel assignment of the mic had changed to one being used by one of the other SLX2s, leaving us with two mics on one receiver. I attempted to contact a backstage crew member to have them give the soloist the last SLX2 that still worked, but they had abandoned their headset and gave the soloist the second SLX2 on that frequency. She finished and did great, but all we could do was sit back and watch. When I reached a crew member, they brought back to me the problem microphone and that is when I discovered the problem. I switched the channel back and all was good for the rest of the night.

After the show, I had found out that the microphone, just before it was given to the soloist, was being held in the same hand as a cell phone. This then reminded me of a time when I was acting and the channel had changed on my SLX1. We thought nothing of it and moved on. But as I recalled that happening, I realized I had my cell phone in my pocket.

My question is- Would it be appropriate to make the assumption that the presence of the cell phone caused our frequency changes?

The short answer? Probably not.