Chauvet DMX-4 wont take DMX signal?

Matt1059

I am very very new to DMX lighting and only do this for a band and couple DJs in the area. I found this site and I think you guys could be a great help. Sorry in advance for my stupid questions.

I have two Chauvet DMX-4 dimmer packs (they used to both work) now only one of them works. The one pack wont take a DMX signal anymore. I can have the settings the same on both units and use the same control and cords going to it but the one unit one take any of the DMX signal. The unit will power up just fine and run with its under its own power not in the dmx mode but as soon as I hook it to the DMX control it wont take any of the signal. Is there something wrong with the pack or am I doing something wrong? I looked through some of the other threads but didnt see anything like this. If anyone has heard of something similar just post a link.

Thanks again for all the help

It sounds like you may in fact have a bad dimmer pack. If you take the cable running to the good pack and plug it into the bad back what I read is that it still does not work.

This can in many cases be a rather easy fix for a technician sitting at a bench. In the field you may want to confirm that there are no blown fuses that need to be changed. If that fails go ahead and give me a call at 4wall Washington dc, I am the service tech there and would be happy to talk to you about the issue. Just ask for Scooter.

Aflounder4u, welcome to CB! Take a moment to introduce yourself in the New Members Board!

OP, have you tried things like going directly with a known good cable to the dimmer? Checked the addressing?

Aflounder4u, welcome to CB! Take a moment to introduce yourself in the New Members Board!

OP, have you tried things like going directly with a known good cable to the dimmer? Checked the addressing?