Control/Dimming Chauvet DMX

Hi im very new to all lighting dimming etc... recenetly i have found 4 chauvet can lights... a 4-channel dmx chase/relay controller and a stage designer 24 in the school that are not being used...

i have no clue how to use any of it...

ive plugged in the stage designer to the control pack and the lights into that and figured out sorta how to control them...

a few questions

what is addressing and what does it do?
what is a relay?

and does anybody no much about these product and how to use them?

Most lighting control boards put out an output of information, that is called DMX-512. The reason for that acronym is that it is digitally multiplexed information or (protocal) and can control up to 512 items such as channels of dimming, color scrollers, strobes and functions of moving light instruments. Because the information is sent down one set of twisted wires in a serial fashion, the receiving device (dimmer) must know which set of digital information out of the 512 that the lighting controller is to control.
Example, you want the 3rd fader on a controller to operate the first dimmer output on a four pack dimmer. You have the choice of setting the 3rd fader to control any of the 512 outputs. That is addressed in the control board in what is refered to as "softpatch". The dimmer channel that the control board sends out with that 3rd fader info now must be addressed in the dimmer pack.
Many of the lesser expensive dimmer control boards may not have softpatch and if that is the case then the 3rd fader would be outputed as DMX 3. The dimmer pack is then addressed to start at dmx 3 and the first channel on the dimmer pack is then controlled by fader 3.