Chauvet MiN Spot.

What Icewolf said... he and I both own them.

I've got a little board from AMDJ/chauvet/Elation (can't remember at the moment... is there really a difference?) that I purchased just for my two min-spots. I paid about $150 for it.

What is your application? They are cute but not very bright. I'm using them for teaching basic DMX setup, programing, and color mixing. I can't think of many straight theater applications for them unless you had a LOT of them. They wouldn't be bad for DJ use.

Thanks folks, to be honest I don't really belong here, I'm not a lighting professional, I use one of these among other units to create colour and ambience for my drumset, so I sneaked on here since you are the guys to ask.
Do I need a Chauvet DMX 40B controller for colour mixing, or something smaller?, not sure if this is the one you mention.

Thanks folks, to be honest I don't really belong here, I'm not a lighting professional, I use one of these among other units to create colour and ambience for my drumset, so I sneaked on here since you are the guys to ask.
Do I need a Chauvet DMX 40B controller for colour mixing, or something smaller?, not sure if this is the one you mention.

If you want to learn. You belong here! This site is about teaching and learning. We can handle small DJ gear questions. I even promise to type slow enough that even a drummer can read. ;)

Yes, The Chauvet DMX 40B would do it. If you only need a few fixtures looks like the Chauvet Obey 10 will handle up to 8 fixtures and appears to run about $90. I'm not sure if there is anything else you sacrifice besides the number of fixtures.
American DJ/Elation has a couple of options as well. I think they are a little better quality but cost more "DMX Operator" looks about the cheapest at around $200.

Chevvies can you tell us a little more:
-Give us the specific number of lights and types that you want to control. (what else besides a minspot?)
-What's your budget?