Chauvet nimbus question

LPdan

Hello,
I am new to dry ice foggers, and have been looking at the Chauvet Nimbus and Nimbus Jr. Can anyone recommend for or against these units for basic theatrical use, say 20' x 40' stage, a few minutes of fog? Also, for about the same cost, would it make more sense to buy two jr models rather than 1 full size nimbus? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hi Dan,
I'm a bit biased... but I love the Nimbus. And I think that Dry Ice fog is one of the coolest effects in the world...
To your question(s)
The regular Nimbus will give you a nice, thick effect for about 6 minutes that will cover about 25'x25' (maybe a little more, depending on environmental conditions).
The Nimbus Jr will give you an equivalent effect on about 10x10' or 15'15 area, but only for about 3 minutes. The Nimbus Jr is really suited to the "dancing on a cloud" effect, for one song.

There are a few major considerations when you're working with a dry ice fogger.
1. Duration of fog generation... this is dictated by the volume of water you're heating. Basically, once the water cools, your effect goes kaput. So if all other conditions are the same, the Nimbus will create an effect for a longer duration than the Nimbus Jr.

2. Duration of "Hang time"... this is dictated by environmental conditions, specifically humidity and temperature. Dry ice fog is just water vapor. If the air is extremely dry, it vanishes quickly. If the air is humid, the fog will last longer before it dissipates. To a lesser extent, temperature will effect how long the effect lasts. If you are using it from USC on a 20' deep stage, it is will probably run off the front of the stage into your pit before it dissipates, especially in NY in the summer. However, it will not cover the entire stage, wing-to-wing. You might (maybe) be able to cover 20x40' evenly with an AquaFog 3300 (available from City Theatrical)... but it will be more expensive, and require more power than the Nimbus.