CM-i3 Audio Headset

I have no experience with the CM-i3, but I see by the specs, it's a cardioid. A cardioid mic is directional, but is not considered "noise cancelling." A cardioid has one null in its pickup pattern but can still pick up sound from most other directions. Most handheld vocal microphones, such as an SM58, are cardioids.

A noise cancelling mic is much different. They are a two port device that only picks up sources that are close to one port compared to the other. They are very effective in noisy places, but have the downside of being picky about placement. The mic has be right in front of your lips, or your voice will get cancelled along with everything else.

I have no experience with the CM-i3, but I see by the specs, it's a cardioid. A cardioid mic is directional, but is not considered "noise cancelling." A cardioid has one null in its pickup pattern but can still pick up sound from most other directions. Most handheld vocal microphones, such as an SM58, are cardioids.

A noise cancelling mic is much different. They are a two port device that only picks up sources that are closer to one port compared to the other. They are very effective in noisy places, but have the downside of being picky about placement. The mic has to be right in front of your lips, or your voice will get cancelled along with everything else.