codes regarding chairs on stage during event

Jfisher2008

Hello,

i was just informed about few hours ago that per Fire Marshal's Regulation (Washington, DC).

That Chairs with wheels are not allowed at all, this caught me off guard as i have been doing it for last several years, only when the renter people requested it.

been checking several websites last few hours, couldn't find any information on it.

was wondering if it has happened to anyone else in good ole U.S.A...or have thought on it?

should i remove the options of having chairs with wheels at all?

(Mods: feel free to move this post in to proper section, thanks)

That's a new one on me. Do they mean on Risers on stage? seems a silly rule if you have kick rails in place, but then again, codes are often silly and it's best not to argue with an AHJ.

not risers. Chairs with wheels.

i have put in a email to AHJ for confirmation. it was told to me via the event coordinator.

I've done rolling "club chairs" onstage before and have never had an issue... but it has never been more than 5 for a panel discussion.

Big question though... do you have audience onstage sitting in these chairs? How many chairs? I can see if they are able to get in the way of egress then you need to have them locked down. We are required to have all audience seating interlocked or zip tied together to prevent chairs from moving to block egress.

Reactions: Van
you have a point, Footer.

the chair with wheels are for the panelists, (max of 3-4 per sessions today/tomorrow) no Audience seating on stage.

we have pulled chairs from the Office of the President of my University(no wheels), as the event started few hours ago.

just pondering about the chair with wheels situation.
no word from my AHJ yet.