Commercial and non-profit theatre

ferrari

Hi Guys, noob here.

I once volunteered for a local theatre to do some simply work and then became wondered: What is the difference between a commercial theatre and a non-profit theatre? The place I volunteered before is a non-profit theatre. I now moved to a place where there is only a for-profit theatre closeby. I would like to find out the differences. I asked some people but they know nothing about it. Hopefully I can get some help from you guys. Thanks!!

Do they both hire union? is the house stage or house production manager who decides how many people are needed? Does it make any difference for rental show than the show the house itself presents?

Hi there. Welcome to Control Booth.

The difference between a for-profit and a non-profit theater is the same as any business, how the money is distributed. The tax status will govern how the facility/company is run, but there are a lot of similarities on our end. Many non-profit theater companies will have smaller budgets and likely will not hire union but depend on a small, underpaid staff who supervises a lot of volunteers. However, you can also have very large non-profit companies who will have very large budgets and pay standard wages and well skilled staff. These of course are generalizations.

I once volunteered for a local theatre to do some simply work and then became wondered: What is the difference between a commercial theatre and a non-profit theatre?
There is no difference as a non-profit entitiy is a commercial entity. As ruinexplorer mentioned, for the US the difference between a for-profit and non-profit entity is essentially in how any profits may be used or assigned.