Company Switch Tie-in

First of all, I am a student, and am NOT interested in doing any of this work myself.

Our venue has two company switches SR, one 400A, the other 150A. They are both 3 phase, and both have cam lock connectors.

For several rock concert-style shows we do, we simply run out of outlets for the onstage sound gear. I noticed that one show that came through (Up With People) used the bigger company switch to power their dimmer rack. So, I was wondering why we couldn't use the smaller one to power audio gear.

I do understand that anything connected to these switches would need to have it's own individual circuit protection. My question is this: Is there a type of distro made that is safe to use for this purpose for onstage audio equipment? Assume that there is a licensed electrician performing all connections and that all district regulations are followed. I only want to know if they make a distro suitable for this, I'm not asking how to do it because I would not be the one working with the tie-in.

Last edited:
Thank you very much, Trevor and Derek, those are EXACTLY what I was thinking of.

Because this is in a school, do you think that going to the school electrician is the right way to go about getting one of these hooked up? (It would only be about three times a year)

Depending on your space available, it should be fine just to leave a distro hooked up and just flip the switch off when it isn't needed. I'm not entirely sure of what students or faculty are allowed to do and aren't allowed to do where you are, but it's also possible to leave the tails attached to the company switch and just patch them into the distro as needed, Leaving the company switch off at all times it's not in use just in case. It really isn't like you are modifying building wiring, you are only (well, essentially) plugging something in. It's just something that could kill you quite a bit easier if you mess around with it.