Contract Advice

Edrick

Premium Member
I'm working on creating a general purpose contract for events that I do. I'm no lawyer nor do I play one on TV and I sure didn't stay at a Holiday In last night. So I figured I'd post it up here so you guys could include any feedback or suggestions.

http://edricksmith.pro/contract.pdf

I don't believe I can export it from Indesign into Word. It's a InDesign File, I can export just the text into a word document however.

http://edricksmith.com/Contract.docx

I'll fix that breach issue.

No matter how I try to get to your web site, be it through the link here or Google or Facebook, I get the error message that "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage". Google found the referenced document and managed to load it as a web page, that was the only way I could access it.

Invest in a good attorney to review the proposed contract. If nothing else there seem to be some terminology issues. For example, you state "agrees to abide by the follow rules and regulations" yet what is presented seem to actually be terms and conditions rather than rules and regulations. And legally, you may actually be bound by the rules and regulations of whatever jurisdiction applies, no matter what you put in the terms it cannot conflict with existing laws where you are located and that's something an attorney should help review. For example, breach of contract may require some intent or damages and not simply your determination of failure to abide by terms and conditions that may or may not comply with applicable existing laws and interpretations.