Controller Software for integration of lights, video & sound?

Magic man

Hi guys,

I am a newbie on the forum,but been a full time pro magician for the last 17 years and it's time for me to upgrade my show - I'll be adding video & lighting in addition to the sound cues that I already use- question for the techie guru world - what type of control application can u recommend that would control all the aspects of the show from one software/controller? i.e. lighting cues,dimming, + video controller all synced with my music. Thanks so much for any input!

Magic Man

I've had several users run both sound and lighting from the same computer. There are three programs, but they all 'talk' to each other for control. The syncing would have to be by real time. That is, you would need to set a light cue to happen 12.5 seconds after the music started (for example). There's a free trial period so you can see if it fits. Cue Player.
[disclaimer - I am the author]

If you have a Mac, give QLab a try - it can easily handle all the video and audio aspects itself, and can interface with a number of other PC-based lighting control applications via software-MIDI.

I've had great luck with Q-Lab as well for integrating lighting and video with audio. You will need a separate lighting console or computer-based lighting control program as mentioned above, but Q-Lab can tell the lighting console when to fire the cues. it's a very powerful application.

Another vote for QLab (again, needs to be on a mac) www.figure53.com

The free version will do 2 channels of audio and 1 output of video as well as *receive* cues from other sources (i.e. MIDI, MSC, OSC, Wall Clock). Try it out for sound and video first. You'll find that the open ended nature of the cueing structure is incredibly powerful.